Keep the Christ in Christmas, B!tch.

One of my favorite things to say to people.

Its funny, you always hear about how the holidays are coming earlier and earlier.  We see Halloween decorations at Labor Day, Thanksgiving decorations at Halloween and ::gasp:: Christmas decorations BEFORE Thanksgiving.

no kidding.  Christmas in the city is like Christmas on f*cking steroids, there’s holiday cheer everywhere –

with the exception of the people in the city.

People are AWFUL when they shop.  Awful.  Holiday’s truly bring out the best in people.  When they’re not complaining about people saying “Merry Christmas” instead of “Happy Holidays!” they’re knocking down a kid for the last stocking.

Now me? I’m going to say “Merry Christmas” – because that’s what I celebrate.  If I know that you’re Jewish, and you celebrate Hanukkah, I’m more than happy to say “Happy Hanukkah“, but don’t tell me that I need to be politically correct for the sake of others.  If you don’t like what I have to say about my faith, belief, or holiday, then just don’t ask me.  Cause I’m not asking you about yours.

While we’re on THAT particular soapbox, if I say the Pledge of Allegiance, I’m damn well going to say “Under God“.  That’s what I learned.  If you don’t want to say “under God” just mumble something.

Anyway, the other day I was at the store picking up some wrapping paper and what not, and the line was LONG.  But it’s the last shopping weekend before Christmas…so a rational person would assume that’s the reason why, and the lines would be long.

Not the person behind me, apparently.  Literally, the second she got on-line she started sighing and complaining (loudly) about how long the line was.  Honestly, if she only said it once, I probably would have let her get in front of me, but she started crowding me.  Which I love (love when strangers touch me.  really.)

Sometimes I have some holiday luck.  As we round the first turn, my buddy calls me – who’s pretty close on the obnoxious scale to me:

Buddy: whacha doin?

Me: just running an errand, picking up some stuff

Buddy: cool, are you gona be back in town for football?

Me: yea, the lines are long ::cough cough, slight pause:: No, of course its expected, its the week before the holiday.  It would be weird if I didn’t have to wait in line

Buddy: You’re making a point, aren’t you?

Me: I’ll be back in a little bit, this is my last stop and the cashiers are going as fast as they can.

Rest of my wait was in silence.

Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

