Music to My Ears…

…are the words “calorie deficit”

I hate running.  Hate it.  But regardless of how I feel about the act, its one of the best ways to burn a butt load of calories in a relatively short amount of time.  Generally I stick to HIIT (High Intensity Interval Training), where you do short bursts of strenuous cardio activity in intervals (example: 30 seconds of a flat out sprint, 30 seconds recovery; 8 reps – or something like that), I mess around with the time and the type of interval I’m doing – really high incline, fast work, 30/15 second intervals, etc. to keep it interesting.

That being said, I think the longest run I’ve done in the past, oh, I don’t know, 3 years has been a 5K. 

So, one of my problems is, I have a big mouth.  My friend asked me if I wanted to do a 10 mile “Run to the Brewery” (for CHARITY…and beer) on the 28th.  She asked me on the 15th.  And I’m thinking (internally) “Self, do you really think you’ll be able to put down 10 miles in two weeks?  You’ve been a little lazy lately”. Externally, however, I’m like “yea!  Of course I want to do that.”

This chic is a runner.  She did the Goofy marathon a few weeks ago, which is a half marathon on Saturday, then a full marathon on Sunday.  That is like the equivalent of being water-boarded for me.  Needless to say, my big ole mouth agreed.

My other problem is I’m incredibly competitive.  Even if the other people aren’t competing against me, I still want to win. 

Result?  I’m logging miles, fool.  Two runs this week, I’m up to an average of 6.25 miles a run at a pace of 10.20.  Not bad, right?  Nope.  Not fast enough.

My legs are pissed at me.  But, after these runs I like to eat ice cream and mac and cheese.  Ya know, carb loading and recovery.  Boom!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. I Absolutely Love Mckenzie Frm Toddlers And Tiaras.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

